Who qualifies for affordable housing?

Affordable housing units have different eligibility requirements based on income and, in some cases, age. The income categories are approximate as follows, subject to variations in household size and other factors:

  • Acutely low income: 15% of Area Median Income (AMI)
  • Extremely low income:  30% of  AMI
  • Very low income:  50% of AMI
  • Median: 60% of AMI
  • Low income:  80% of AMI
  • Median income:  100% of AMI
  • Moderate income: 120% AMI

“Affordable housing cost” for lower-income households is defined in State law as not more than 30 percent of gross household income with variations (Health and Safety Code Section 50052.5).

Contact property managers directly to inquire about specific eligibility requirements for individual units. The California Department of Housing and Community Development publishes income limits for each county annually. Find Sonoma County income and rent limit information on the County of Sonoma website.







Close window